JeopardyLabs – a True Case of Fun and Learn

JeopardyLabs is a site for creating your own jeopardy games. It works really well and we’ve had some great fun in this house today creating and competing. It is surprising though, how hard it is to turn your brain around to formulate questions before answer.

I have this far made two games to use at school. One in English on world religions and one in Swedish on Medieval Times. Both are aimed to be a fun way of ending work projects that I have recently run with the students. I am going to let the students compete in teams while we watch the game proceed on the big screen. Hopefully we’ll have fun together and hopefully the questions will lead to discussions. To encourage discussion I think I will avoid timing.

Creating the games is easy. Saving and editing is easy, which is good as it is a good idea to try the games on someone before using them. When I tried the games out on my own children I realised that some of the answers or questions were not formulated very well and I changed them.

I see a lot of uses for JeopardyLabs in teaching. It can be used for practicing grammar, slang, idioms or vocabulary in language tuition; it can be used for learning or repeating facts in for example social or natural sciences; it could also be used for making games where literature is connected to authors; geography and maths are other great subjects for Jeopardy. One could also let each team have their own computer and the first team to find out the answer from the internet wins the points. To enhance questions and answers it is possible to add pictures and other multimedia to answers by using HTML.

The game could also of course be used for simply having fun. I have some ideas about us teachers making a game with personal questions about ourselves for the students to answer. We sometimes make teams consisting of a student from each grade (6,7,8,9), to make them get to know each other better. Jeopardy would be great for such occasion.

Of course the students can also be asked to make their own games, individually or in teams. I am going to give my students the task of making games containing questions on story writers they have recently studied. A chance to anchor their knowledge and also an opportunity to be experts.

You can also use games created by others. If you want to use the games I have made today and ones that I make in the future you go to the following adress:

http://jeopardylabs.com/1429

You are asked to pay a voluntary fee to register, using PayPal. Well worth it I say!

Leave a Reply

